I’ve just worked up a theme for combat, if and when it does eventually get incorporated into the game. It may be not be appropriate for the final version of the game – it’s very clearly designed of loops, some of which repeat every bar – but I’m proud of the piece for several reasons. I’ve been working to get some complexity out of pre-recorded and computer generated notes so that the sound is not so obviously synthetic. We notice synthetic music if it is flat and lacks texture – you can hear in this peace that I’ve put the “delay” and “reverb” filters to extensive use in an effort to flesh it out. I’ve told Eric that my pie-in-the-sky ideal is to produce something hearkening back to the soundtrack of Relic Studio’s 1999 game of the year Homeworld. I still get a chill when I hear the battle themes of the Swarmers or the Turanic Raiders. Something about the blasting french horns and the easterny sounding clarinet really made those battles feel epic. Going forward I’m going to a) extend the length of my loops to get a broader, more sweeping sound and b) work on designing my own drum patterns.  By the by, I think the game is coming along swell for being the work of a few Poli-Sci majors.

I’ve just worked up a theme for combat, if and when it does eventually get incorporated into the game. It may be not be appropriate for the final version of the game – it’s very clearly designed of loops, some of which repeat every bar – but I’m proud of the piece for several reasons. I’ve been working to get some complexity out of pre-recorded and computer generated notes so that the sound is not so obviously synthetic. We notice synthetic music if it is flat and lacks texture – you can hear in this peace that I’ve put the “delay” and “reverb” filters to extensive use in an effort to flesh it out.

I’ve told Eric that my pie-in-the-sky ideal is to produce something hearkening back to the soundtrack of Relic Studio’s 1999 game of the year Homeworld. I still get a chill when I hear the battle themes of the Swarmers or the Turanic Raiders. Something about the blasting french horns and the easterny sounding clarinet really made those battles feel epic. Going forward I’m going to a) extend the length of my loops to get a broader, more sweeping sound and b) work on designing my own drum patterns. 

By the by, I think the game is coming along swell for being the work of a few Poli-Sci majors.

Leave a Reply

