I’ve completed another song I think will fit well with the game’s aesthetic. Please to enjoy. I notice that I always seem to shoot for a minimalist sound – a droning background, the occasional plucked string – and yet, somehow I always seem to expand and build and inevitably whip out the heavy WUHHHHHHHHH cello sound and aggressive beatbox. At some point I will need to check this impulse to go grand… but for now, I’m satisfied with the music I made today. Eric and I have been discussing the sound scheme for the game. We’re experimenting with the idea of having a special theme for when the player exits the ship to go mining/exploring/building. We like the idea of space being a vacuum and not transmitting sound save through what comes in contact with the suit, a la Deadspace. This presents a great opportunity for me to convey a particular emotion through a specific library of sounds and, more fun, a specific type of music. It may be that we eschew background tunes altogether when the player exits the ship, or it may be that we develop more subtle, less heavy themes. I imagine a haunting, slow melody of a single flute, high echo effect and pregnant with silences… and then, nothing – the player hears the sound of his own breathing. It’s something fun to consider.  I’ve been experimenting with the 3D software Blender for the first time and following carefully through some tutorials. It’s a challenge but not impossible – I think if I put my mind to it I could develop us a decent astronaut avatar to replace the oval that currently represents the player in the game. I will also look into animation, which I hear from my father is not terribly hard for for the simple sort of things we’ll be doing. 

I’ve completed another song I think will fit well with the game’s aesthetic. Please to enjoy.

I notice that I always seem to shoot for a minimalist sound – a droning background, the occasional plucked string – and yet, somehow I always seem to expand and build and inevitably whip out the heavy WUHHHHHHHHH cello sound and aggressive beatbox. At some point I will need to check this impulse to go grand… but for now, I’m satisfied with the music I made today.

Eric and I have been discussing the sound scheme for the game. We’re experimenting with the idea of having a special theme for when the player exits the ship to go mining/exploring/building. We like the idea of space being a vacuum and not transmitting sound save through what comes in contact with the suit, a la Deadspace. This presents a great opportunity for me to convey a particular emotion through a specific library of sounds and, more fun, a specific type of music. It may be that we eschew background tunes altogether when the player exits the ship, or it may be that we develop more subtle, less heavy themes. I imagine a haunting, slow melody of a single flute, high echo effect and pregnant with silences… and then, nothing – the player hears the sound of his own breathing.

It’s something fun to consider. 

I’ve been experimenting with the 3D software Blender for the first time and following carefully through some tutorials. It’s a challenge but not impossible – I think if I put my mind to it I could develop us a decent astronaut avatar to replace the oval that currently represents the player in the game. I will also look into animation, which I hear from my father is not terribly hard for for the simple sort of things we’ll be doing. 

Leave a Reply

