A few of my music posts mention that I feel a little caught up in a loop rut recently and feel like a lot of my music is a little stunted by the method I use to create it. My phone app is great, but it insists upon loops of 4 bars at a time, which I’ve found inhibits musical themes longer than that. It also makes it quite a challenge to switch keys, or throw little pieces of ambient variety in there. The result is I feel somewhat “herded” towards a certain style of music – It’s difficult to experiment “sideways” but easy to experiment “up,” which results in these songs that build and build and build towards a crescendo. That’s great for some things, but since I constantly think of the Drift sound track as a ambient “mood-setter”, like a movie soundtrack during a dialog scene, and not aggressive, as an object of the player’s direct focus, I have trouble creating the appropriate tone. This attached piece is made in FL studio, as opposed to the phone, and an attempt to enjoy more of that “sideways” experimentation – no loops save for the beat at the baseline, which are subtle. FL, of course, is much superior to a little $8 app on a smart phone, and I really think that the flexibility it provides will be great for the soundtrack. I think this pieace captures the kind of haunting mood I’ve been seeking for Drift. Please to enjoy! Derek

A few of my music posts mention that I feel a little caught up in a loop rut recently and feel like a lot of my music is a little stunted by the method I use to create it. My phone app is great, but it insists upon loops of 4 bars at a time, which I’ve found inhibits musical themes longer than that. It also makes it quite a challenge to switch keys, or throw little pieces of ambient variety in there. The result is I feel somewhat “herded” towards a certain style of music – It’s difficult to experiment “sideways” but easy to experiment “up,” which results in these songs that build and build and build towards a crescendo. That’s great for some things, but since I constantly think of the Drift sound track as a ambient “mood-setter”, like a movie soundtrack during a dialog scene, and not aggressive, as an object of the player’s direct focus, I have trouble creating the appropriate tone.

This attached piece is made in FL studio, as opposed to the phone, and an attempt to enjoy more of that “sideways” experimentation – no loops save for the beat at the baseline, which are subtle. FL, of course, is much superior to a little $8 app on a smart phone, and I really think that the flexibility it provides will be great for the soundtrack. I think this pieace captures the kind of haunting mood I’ve been seeking for Drift. Please to enjoy!

Derek

Leave a Reply

