The Greatest Running Animation of All Time

I’ve never done much by the way of complicated animation before, but we plan to do a bunch of it for our next project, Summit. Here’s what I snuck in during my lunch break today.

Very, very basic as you can see (and with our requisite jank levels), but I think I’ve grasped the basics. Now it’s time to look at images like the thing below and compare on a frame by frame basis. Get get things more detailed.

Thanks for tuning in!

Derek

Update:

After getting home today I spent more time on the animation, giving special attention to the motion of the legs and feet. I think I got a much more natural motion of the limbs with just a few hours work – it gives me confidence we can improve on this as time goes on. Still work to be done, though – as I look at this video I realize the arms are slightly out of sync.

