The Captain’s Log

Hi Folks,

After long last (you probably thought we were dead, hunh?) I’m happy to announce my labor of love, The Captain’s Log.

My wife Mara and have I watched a lot of Star Trek over the past two years, and (Mara can confirm this) pretty much every time we watched the opening credits for Voyager (in which a space ship and her crew are stranded on the far side of the galaxy) I mused out loud that “this would make an awesome game.” This is my attempt to make that happen! Nights, weekends, and more than the occasional early morning were dedicated to the effort.

Untitled-1

Eric was a frequent play tester and advice giver. More than once the random name generator has spat his name as some Ensign unlucky enough to be assigned to The Laconia. The game couldn’t have been made without his support… and now it’s my turn to back up his work on Debris and his new project, We Are Being Boarded.

The game is free (with an optional donation) for PC, Mac, and Linux. After the initial release, I’m going to make a mobile A lot of love, blood, sweat, and tears went into making this. It didn’t end up being the dwarf fortress in space I initially envisioned – but I suppose this is what expansions are for.

I hope you enjoy it.

~ Derek

This post was originally published on Derek’s personal blog.

